Call us today! 803-333-9621

The African American Advisory Committee

The African American Advisory Committee of the South Carolina Commission for Minority Affairs:

•    Seats up to 20 members working collaboratively representing the six Congressional Districts
•    Members represent various institutions and organizations, and communities from across the state
•    Personal and professional affiliations reflect those program areas that are consistent with the mission of the CMA
•    Serve as advisers to the Commission and identifies resources for the African American community
•    Commitment to serving a minimum two-year term

African American Advisory Committee 2009-2011

Mr. Charles B. Brown, Fatherhood Coalition

Mr. Derrick Dease, Fatherhood Initiative

Ms. Mary Lynn Diggs, Head Start

Ms. Loretta Eason, Community Organizer

Mr. Wallace Evans, Jr., A Father’s Place

Rev. Johnandad M. Flemming, Sr., Southerside Community Center

Dr. Lamont Flowers, Charles H. Houston Center for the Study of the Black Experience in Education, Clemson Univeristy

Ms. Patrice T. Green, South Carolina Department of Education

Ms. Leslie Hipp, Lexington/Richland Alcohol and Drug Abuse Council

Mr. Joseph James, President and CEO Corporation for Economic Opportunity

Ms. Louise Johnson, SC Department of Mental Health

Dr. Robert Kirton, Richland School District One

Dr. Sadye L. Logan, College of Social Work, University of South Carolina

Mr. Leon Love, CONNEC and Associates

Ms. Sadie Miller, Community Organizer

Ms. Jessica McMoore, Director SC Association of Community Action Partnerships

Ms. Dorothy M. Priester, Executive Director Cherokee County First Steps

Mr. Marion Reeder, Laurens County Health Care Systems

Mr. Tommy Rice, Upstate Fatherhood Coalition

Ms. Hope Rivers, SC State Board of Technical and Comprehensive Education

Ms. Bessie Sanders-Gordon, Head Start Consultant

Ms. Jacqueline Shuler, Department of Social Services

Ms. Gwendolyn L. C. Snider, Guidance Counselor

Mr. Roy Smith, Post-Residential/Admissions Coordinator, SC Youth ChalleNGe Academy

Mr. Tony Spearman, State Farm Insurance Agent

Mr. Fred Washington, School Board Chairman, Beaufort County District 11 (Term 2007-2010)

Ms. Andrea W. Williams, M.Ed., Institute for Partnerships to Eliminate Health Disparities, University of South Carolina

Mr. Malik Whitaker, United Way of the Midlands

African American Advisory Committee 2006-2008

Ms. Sharron Dean, Parents Anonymous

Ms. Patrice T. Green, State Department of Education

Ms. Tina Herbert, Attorney at Law

Mr. Joseph James, Center for Economic Opportunity

Mr. Bernie Mazyck, SC Association of Community Development Corporations

Mr. Thomas Persons, SC Technology Alliance

Ms. Hope Rivers, SC Technical College System

Dr. Marion Sillah, SC State University

Mr. Tina Varick, SC Chamber of Commerce

Mr. Malik Whitaker, United Way of the Midlands

Mr. Leon Wiles, USC Upstate

Leave a Reply