Skip to main content
The Official Web Site of the State of South Carolina

Minority Population Divisions

Our Advisory Committees

Per South Carolina Code of Regulations, Chapter 139, Article 2, Section 139-202, the Advisory Committee's role is to "A. Advise the Commission for Minority Affairs regarding socio-economic issues relevant to African Americans, Native American Indians, Hispanics/Latinos, Asians and other ethnic minority groups in South Carolina. B. Identify the needs and concerns of the various ethnic minorities and bring such needs and concerns to the attention of the Commission for Minority Affairs. C. Make recommendations to the Commission for Minority Affairs to address the needs and concerns of ethnic minority groups."

African American Affairs Division Advisory Committee

Dr. Roslyn Clark Artis, Ashleigh Brooker, Norma Lynn Brown, James E. Clark, Anita Dantzler, Kamini Davis, Lester Young, Delisa Dawkins, Dr. W. Franklin Evans, Rev. Johnandad Flemming Sr., Dr. Matthew Guah, Lasenta Lewis-Ellis, Robert McFadden, Dr. Ernest McNealy, Ashley B. Page, L. Michelle Peay, SC Rep. Marvin Pendarvis, Dr. Ora Spann, Denise Taiste, Dr. Willie L. Todd Jr., Calvin Whitfield, Gail Wilson, Ebony Young, Dr. Leroy Staggers, Dr. Lester A. McCorn, Dr. Dwaun J. Warmack

Asian American and Pacific Islander Affairs Division Ad Hoc Committee

Dr. Raj Aluri, Ellie YiHsien Chao, Xiaobo Hu, Faapepele Hunkin, Dr. Yue Li, Vanessa Mota, Pacifico Perea, Dr. Ling Rao, Ling Wang, Dr. Tan Ye

Hispanic/Latino Affairs Division Advisory Committee

Miriam Berrouet, Denise Coleman, Lillian García, Julio Hernández, Vanessa Mota, Alma Puente Ruiz, Nilsy Rapalo, Sharon Rivera Doublin, Cecilia Rodríguez, Tanya Rodríguez Hodges, Diana Saillant, Shirley Santillán, Gigi Towers, Mayte Velasco Nicolás, Gabriella Velásquez

Native American Affairs Division Advisory Committee

Beaver Creek Indians, Catawba Indian Nation, Chaloklowa Chickasaw Indian People, Eastern Cherokee, Southern Iroquois and United Tribes of SC, Edisto Natchez Kusso Tribe of South Carolina, Lower Eastern Cherokee Nation of South Carolina, Natchez Tribe of South Carolina, Native American Studies Program, Office of the State Archaeologist, Office of the Governor, Pee Dee Indian Nation of Upper South Carolina, Pee Dee Indian Tribe, Pee Dee Indian Tribe of Beaver Creek, Piedmont American Indian Association (PAIA), Santee Indian Organization, South Carolina Institute of Archaeology and Anthropology, Sumter Tribe of Cheraw Indians, University of South Carolina-Lancaster Native American Studies Center, The Waccamaw Indian People and the Wassamasaw Tribe of Varnertown Indians